top of page

New Owner 🎉 Matt Cahoon

Congrats Spoon!


Last night I announced to the community the changing of the guard at CrossFit 3018. I have the upmost respect for our new owner Matt Spoon Cahoon who will take over next week and when thinking about who I would want leading the charge to continue flying the 3018 flag, he was the #1 choice!




Yes if you missed it last night, CrossFit 3018 has a new owner and he really wants our community to have a bloody awesome time at CrossFit 3018 and to continue to get better and have fun doing it.


Please pass on your congratulations 🥳


Spoonman has believed in me and been by my side for 10 years and I believe in him to guide this ship for 3018 moving forward.


Spoon has transformed his life, his values, his behaviours and become a leader and a role model and someone who loves sharing CrossFit and a few laughs with anyone ans everyone.


He is the guy who wore a CrossFit 3018 top to every Comp he ever did cause we gotta put 3018 on the map Tricko and he did exactly that becoming the number 1 master in Australia and making a tonne of friends along the way with his approachable, gentle and enjoyable nature.


Spoon loves 3018 so much he has brought more friends to the gym than anyone I have ever known and he has stayed back after class longer than most people I know joining in on other peoples birthday burpees, synchronised Reps to help the last person finish, convincing 3018ers that doing extra thrusters and handstand push ups is a good idea after the wod or just chewing your ear off like Rod Turk loves to do and does equally well 😂 as well as fixing bikes, taking me on road trips to pick up equipment rigs, GHDs, flooring to make the gym what it is today. The man goes the extra mile, he is a team player a partner wod lover and he cares, and that’s what the community deserves.


So no doubt you are in great hands and what a bloody great night last night was for those that were there to share in the fun wods, great food and bevz


I have many thank you’s to say, many hugs to give and many hopes to return and train at my favourite place when I come home to Melbourne.


You the community, the members and the coaches are an integral part in everything we have achieved and everything you continue to achieve and I encourage you all to be your best selves, to make mistakes, learn fast, say sorry, move on, have lots of laughs, laugh some more, train hard, recover harder and continue to be mobile, continue to be hungry and continue to support the new people through the gym because they are the most inspiring people I know.


Being here the last 3 weeks has been very refreshing and energising. We have a beautiful crew and that is so special.


Also, if you think you can get rid of me, sorry, I will be programming for you for the next 3 months and running Zoom sessions and my family, friends and favourite gym is here so no doubt I will be around... and also when Gill is back, this is her favourite place to be around and she is missing being here so deeply, probably even more than me, so Gilly is so pumped for spoon and you all and she will make me train every day and we will both love every second of it.


Mum and Dad, My wife, The coaches, you have all been my rocks! Thank you Xx


You are no doubt all ambitious people! If you do CrossFit you are ambitious by nature, so bring on a massive 2021!!


This time last year the gym was closed, many of us lost our way, struggled to train and missed our gym buddies and social interaction.


There is nothing quite like being around inspiring people, doing challenging workouts and growing together and I hope that your friends and family find CrossFit 3018 and join the family too.


See you all next week and keep on keeping on! There is much to learn, gains to be had and laughs to be shared xx So have them and thank you.


And thanks to my partner last night Sabine Reboul that was so fun to share these wods with you. John Enright far too good in the bar hang, I think you had another minute at least but we will never know. Alex and Noah, you deserve all the awards and I’m sure you will get plenty more, well done! Aaron Zahra and Vanessa Antoun Gerges what a team, fair to say you guys were the dream team tonight. And Josephine Poutama that outfit, incredible! Pav and Troy on BBQ well done. Spoon man for the meat and Nicole for the beautiful salads. Fine for the 3,2,1 go and cheers man. Oh and Crystal babysitter of the year!! Great to see so many colours and smiles xx


Cheers

Tristan

Tricko xx


To get involved with the 3018 team

Visit www.crossfit3018.com.au and join Spoony and the team in fun and fitness 💪😎


Free trials available

Free intro next Saturday 10:15am for new to CrossFit peops

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page